Midnight Cowboy Run Recap (and Lavilin winners!)

Well, I’m pretty certain that my 5k days are over.  My body just does not like running 5ks.  Here’s why.

A while back, Jus Run, a local race company was offering a deal on their races for one day, so my husband and I decided to sign up for their Midnight Cowboy Run.  Vince opted for the 10k, while I wanted to try to PR a 5k since I hadn’t done one in a while.

I am in the middle of training for my next half marathon, and didn’t want to get behind on my long runs, so I met up with my run club Saturday morning and did a 7 mile run.  I took it nice and easy so I wouldn’t tire myself out for the race that night.

IMG_3986

This was another midnight race and once again I was questioning what in the world I was thinking signing up for a midnight race.  I was pretty tired Saturday night, so after we dropped the kids off at Nana’s, I took about an hour nap before it was time to head over to the race venue.

It had been raining on and off all evening and there was a ton of lightening and thunder all over the valley.  We were actually wondering if the race would be cancelled, but once we got there the rain had mostly subsided.  We picked up our packets and got our bibs and timing chips on.  Then it started raining again, so we went back to our car and waited it out.  We had about 10 minutes until the start time and the rain was starting to subside so we got out and headed over to the start area.  Before the race started, we all sang the national anthem and right in the middle of it, we got a complete downpour.  Everyone headed for cover hoping it would subside as quickly as it came on, but we were not that lucky.  We had about two minutes until go time and it was just a torrential downpour.  We all reluctantly headed over to the start line and everyone was just completely soaked from our head to our toes.  My shoes and my socks were drenched.  Ugh.  Finally it was go time and we were off.  It was still pouring rain, but thankfully after about five minutes into the race it stopped.

I could tell almost immediately that I wasn’t going to PR this race.  My legs were tired from my morning run and combined with having soaked shoes and socks, I just knew it wasn’t going to happen.  But, I gave it my all as best as I could.

The course was on a trail that parallels our beltway freeway here, so nothing really scenic.  Just an out and back which was mostly flat except for one area where there was a ramp going up to a bridge that crosses over the freeway.  There were two girls ahead of me that I was trying to catch, but at the turn around, one of them kept going, so I knew she must have been doing to 10k, which meant I was in 2nd place for the females.  After I turned around, I saw Vince and he yelled at me to “Go!” which was just the push I needed to wrap this thing up.  I was running neck and neck with a guy on the last mile.  I think we were really pushing each other, which was pretty cool.  The finish line was finally in sight and I pulled ahead of him and ran as fast as I could towards it.  And then….disaster!  I started dry heaving.  I kept running but it wouldn’t stop.  And then, literally about 5 feet from the finish line, I started throwing up.  Horrible.  I stumbled across the finish line, threw up some more (I can’t wait to see my finish line photos ::insert sarcasm:) and sheepishly apologized to the photographer and the people handing out the medals.  I was so embarrassed.  I grabbed some water and headed over to the computers to see my time.  I still ended up getting 2nd place overall for the females, with a time of 22:55, but it wasn’t a PR.

IMG_3988

Oh well, I can’t complain.  I did the best I could given the circumstances.  Oh and I got this pretty award!

IMG_3999

After I got settled, I waited at the finish line for Vince.  When I saw him coming, I could see he was almost neck and neck with another runner.  They were hauling towards the finish line, and the other guy just barely got there before him.  They shook hands and congratulated each other.  Vince did such an amazing job.  The guy he was so close with was in his age group, and ended up with 2nd place, which put Vince in 3rd place in his age group!  His official time was 53:55.  Awesome job my love!

IMG_3993

IMG_3995

The race was put on very well, as usual and Jus Run always gives out great awards.  All the finishers got this cool bottle opener medal and a nice tech shirt.

IMG_4001

IMG_3994

So while everything ended up okay, I don’t know if I want to do any more 5ks.  The last 5k I did, the exact same thing happened, except earlier in the race, so I actually had to stop twice to throw up.  My body wants to run faster, and is fully capable, but my stomach just won’t allow it.  When this happened before, I thought maybe it had been something I ate, but I think this is just my body’s reaction to really pushing myself.  Sometimes I feel this coming on when I do speed work, but doing the recovery laps in between sets makes it subside.  If anyone body has any suggestions, I’d love to hear it.

And, now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for!  Our Lavilin winners!

Capture

Congratulations Billie and Robin!  I’ll be in touch to arrange your prizes!

 

14 thoughts on “Midnight Cowboy Run Recap (and Lavilin winners!)

  1. Ha, didn’t expect to find anyone from the running group on wordpress.
    Running long distances makes you slower… You are going to get faster at the longer events like the HM or M, but your 5k is going to suffer. Idk about you but one of the reason most runners toss their cookies is because they exceed their lactic threshold. The reason it doesn’t happen as much in the longer races is because your pace is significantly slower than the pace you run in the 5k. Work on increasing your lactate threshold and you won’t be tossing your cookies at the end of the race. Best of luck and nice finding you here.

  2. Sorry to hear about your tummy problems. I’d be very happy with your finish time though. That’s quick compared to my 5k PR. I think that’s why I prefer the half Mary distance best. I’m not fast by any stretch, so I feel most accomplished for distance.

  3. Pingback: And That’s a Wrap! |

Leave a Reply

