It’s Okay to Say No {Finding Balance}

I recently had the opportunity to participate on a relay team for a triathlon here in Las Vegas with some really great athletes.  I initially was totally up for it, but once I got into looking at my calendar, I realized that it conflicted with something else my husband and I had going on (aka beer and wine festival the previous night).  Yeah, drinking beer and wine the night before running a half marathon just doesn’t really sound appealing.  I thought about my options.  I could still go to the festival, but not drink.  I could skip the festival all together.  Or I could say no to the relay.  I said no to the relay.  Why?  Because I need balance in my life.

images

As much as I love running, and love any new running opportunity that presents itself (after all I’ve never participated on a relay team before), I also need balance.  If I let running dominate my entire life, I would be a very unhappy, unfulfilled person.  The same goes with every aspect of my life, my husband, my children, work, etc.  I love my husband and my kids are my world, but I also need time for myself.  This is what makes me happy, having a very healthy balance of each aspect of my life.  And, unfortunately that means saying no sometimes.

It’s only by saying “no” that you can concentrate on the things that are really important.”  – Steve Jobs

Like drinking wine with my husband and friends.  Haha.  But really, sometimes a night out with my husband needs to take priority over everything else.  It’s all about balance.

For some reason, this year seems to be the year of many opportunities.  I’ve been asked to do so many things this year that I’ve never done before.  Things that take up my almost non-existent spare time.  I’ve said yes to the things that I think are important and that I want to do and I’ve said no to the things that don’t rank as high.  But I’m not going to feel guilty.  New opportunities will come and life is too short to spend doing things that are not meaningful to yourself.

 

Do you ever feel guilty saying no?

3 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Say No {Finding Balance}

  1. I always feel guilty saying no, but as I’ve gotten older and had kids, I’ve realized that it is ok to say no, and you NEED to say no sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

