Apple Ring Pancakes {Recipe}

As much as I love nothing more than getting my workout done first thing in the morning, I usually reserve my Sunday mornings for sleeping in (apparantly being woken up by my girls at 6:45am is actually sleeping in these days) and having breakfast with my family. I usually plan my Sunday workouts during their nap time, which isn’t my favorite thing to do, but the Sunday morning family time is worth it to me.

A few days ago I was flipping through my Family Fun Magazine when I came across a recipe for apple ring pancakes. Slices of apples sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, dipped in a buttermilk pancake batter and fried to a crisp? Yummy! A perfect Sunday morning breakfast that the girls could help make. Plus anything with hidden fruit is a plus for my picky eaters.

I sliced and cored the apples and the girls sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar.

image

We made up the batter and they took turns covering each slice with batter while I cooked them on the griddle.

image

They looked so delicious as they were cooking.

image

When we were finished making them, we drizzled them with vanilla spice syrup and dug in.

image

All I can say is yum, yum, yum. These pancakes were so delicious. The outside was a little crispy and the apple inside was cooked to a perfect softness (not mushy at all) that reminded me of homemade apple pie. This is a perfect fall recipe, which is just around the corner! I just love Sunday mornings.

Here is the recipe if you’d like to make up a batch of these:

Apple Ring Pancakes

From Family Fun Magazine

Ingredients:

2 large apples, each cored and thinly sliced cross-wise into 10 pieces

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. cinnamon

7 1/2 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1 egg

2 tbsp. butter, melted, plus more for cooking

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 tsp. lemon zest

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, toss the apple slices and lemon juice, then sprinkle the fruit with 3 teaspoons sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the remaining sugar and cinnamon with the baking powder, baking soda, flour, and salt. In another bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients. Add the flour mixture and whisk into a slightly lumpy batter.

3. In a large skillet over medium heat, melt 1/2 teaspoon butter. Spoon batter over an apple slice, letting the excess fall back into the bowl (this coating method will keep the slices from breaking). Place the pancake in the pan, then repeat with two more apple slices.

4. Cook the pancakes until golden brown on each side, about 5 minutes per side. Cook the remaining apple slices, adding butter to the pan as needed. Serve immediately.

What’s your favorite Sunday morning breakfast?

7 thoughts on “Apple Ring Pancakes {Recipe}

Leave a Reply

