These Are a Few of My Favorite Things {about early morning running}

This morning my alarm went off way too early.  It’s Monday morning, back to work, back to a week full of responsibilities, commitments, and obligations.  The only thing I wanted to do was shut of my alarm and go back to sleep.  It also didn’t help that my 2 year old had been awake since 4:30am.  But, without thinking too much about it, I got up, got dressed, laced up my sneakers and poured myself a large cup of motivation…er, I mean coffee.  After downing my coffee and heading out the door, I started my run.  Almost instantly I was reminded of why I do this.  Why I choose to forgo that extra hour of sleep to go out and run 5 miles.  Why I get up in the dark when everyone else is sleeping to sweat.  Here are a few of my favorite things about early morning running.

It gets it out of the way.  This is my number one favorite thing about running first thing in the morning.  There is nothing worse than putting off a workout and having that nagging feeling all day that I need to get it done.  On top of that, there is always that chance that something will come up that prevents me from doing it at all.  But chances are, nothing will get in the way at 5am (other than the desire to sleep more).  Plus, it just makes for a great day when you head out to face the world already feeling accomplished.

The sunrise.  What could be more beautiful than getting to see the sunrise?  It is usually dark when I start my run and progressively gets lighter and lighter as I go.  The second half of my loop I’m facing the east, so I get to see a beautiful sunrise every time I run early in the morning.  Unfortunately this will change in the winter where it will still be dark when I’m finishing, but for now, I’m really enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Sunrise Mountain

I get to see my neighbors.  Every time I go for an early morning run I see the same people in my neighborhood walking their dogs or also going for a morning run.  Even though the extent of my interaction with them is a smile and a, “Good morning!” I feel like we share a connection.  I don’t know any of these people by name (and I don’t think they know my name either), or which exact house they live in, but we know each other’s faces, we know who’s dog belongs to who, and we all know that we are starting out our day in a great way.

Helps me sleep better.  Do you ever lay in bed when it’s time to sleep and your body just won’t shut down?  Your mind is thinking about all kinds of other stuff and you just can’t go to sleep?  This used to happen to me a lot, but not anymore.  I lay down in bed, and I’m asleep in about two minutes.  Every single night.  It is glorious.

No time lost with my children.  Being a working mom, I always feel guilty when any time away from work is not spent with my kids.  Whether it’s a hair appointment, a girl’s night out, or something fitness related.  I really don’t think that feeling ever completely goes away.  Usually when I return from my morning run, they are either still asleep or they have just woken up.  So, by getting my run out of the way early in the morning, I don’t miss out on any time with my kids.

These are just a few of my favorite things about early morning running.  I really wanted to put this out there so I can come back at look at it the next time my alarm goes off way too early and I’m questioning why I’m doing this.  Happy Monday!

 

What time of day to you prefer to work out?

8 thoughts on “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things {about early morning running}

  1. Love working out in the morning! I had to tell myself again this morning, don’t think…just do, and before I knew it I was done! The alarm going off is a little tough sometimes, but the feeling after and not having to worry about working out all day is well worth that alarm. Thanks for the awesome tips 🙂

  2. That picture is beautiful! The sunrise is one of my favorite parts about getting up early too. And the quietness. I just love everything about it.

  3. I am a morning runner all the way. If I’m not done by 10 am it’s not happening. And I want to be done so I don’t lose that precious family time! That sunrise is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

