So You Want to Find a Running Group?

I’m writing this post as a request from one of my Las Vegas friends who told me she is “green with envy” when I write about my early morning training runs with my group.  I joined my running group (Las Vegas Runners) about 4 months ago and it was probably the best running decision I’ve ever made.  I’ve met so many great people and really love the encouragement and motivation that each person brings to the group.  Not to mention, we do some really fun stuff (aka running half marathons at midnight in Area 51)!

IMG_3554

(Seriously, does it get any better than this when it comes to a running group?)

If you’re looking to join a running group, but not sure where to start, here are some ideas and tips to help you start looking for that perfect one!

Social Media – It’s no surprise that many running groups have their own social media sites as well.  I personally found my running group through meetup.com.  You can search there and also other social media outlets such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Local Sports Stores – Every time I’ve been in to Performance Footwear, a local running shoe store, I see a table inside that has all kinds of business cards and flyers for local fitness groups.  Check out stores in your neighborhood because chances are there is a group nearby.

Local Race Organizers – I know of at least one race organizer in Las Vegas (Jus Run) that also has a running group.  If none of your local race organizers have running groups, you could still reach out to them to find out if they know of any in the area.  Chances are they’ve probably worked with some of the local running groups in the past and can steer you in the right direction.

Recreation Centers – Typically the local city and county will offer fitness classes and groups through their parks and recreation department.  Most have online catalogues that you can browse to find one that suits you and they are typically low cost.

Local Gyms – A lot of running coaches train with clients at local gyms, so next time you’re at the gym, ask at the front desk or any personal trainers you see if they know of any running groups that you could join.

Word of Mouth – If you have any running friends, ask them!  I heard about a few different running groups in Las Vegas through other runners that I would have never known about otherwise.

Internet Search – And when all else fails, there is always the good ‘ol Google search.

Hopefully by utilizing any of the methods I’ve stated above, you will have found a few different running groups to choose from.  Once you’ve found some options, do a little research on each one to see if it will work for you.  Weigh the pros and cons of each group such as day/time of meetups, location, participation, etc.  And if you’re still not sure, ask them if you can come to a few trial meetups before signing on.  I’m sure they would love you to feel them out first to make sure it’s a good fit before committing.

 

Do you belong to a running group or club?  How did you find them?

Also, did you notice my blog got a little updating?  Do you like my new logo?

3 thoughts on “So You Want to Find a Running Group?

  1. I ran with a running group for a while. “Drinkers with a running problem”
    They were great but now I’m living in a new part of town and I need to find a new one to join.

  2. Thanks for this! It gets lonely running alone all the time, not to mention creepy early in the morning. I may start looking into a club for an extra push of motivation.

Leave a Reply

