The Friday Five Link Up: Fitness Snapshots!

It’s Friday!  That means I’m once again doing the Friday Five link up with the lovely DC Trifecta (Eat Pray Run, DC, You Signed Up For What?!, and Mar on the Run!)!

DC_linkup

Go check out their blogs…they are so fun!  This week’s theme is fitness snapshots!  I have a ton of fitness snapshots so it was hard choosing just five, but here’s the ones that made the cut!

1.  Running with my girls.

jogging stroller

Nowadays I do most of my running early in the morning while they are sleeping, so I don’t use the jogging stroller much, but I did break it out a few weeks ago when my husband was away on a work trip and I desperately wanted to get in a run.  My girls love going for runs and actually get mad at me if I walk, “Mommy run!  Run faster mommy!”  Not to mention the millions of questions they ask during the run.  Seriously, nothing is harder than pushing 75 pounds of weight while running and trying to answer a question every minute about why the sky is blue.

2.  Biking with my sister.

photo4

I love visiting my sister.  We live about 2 hours apart, so we get to see each other a lot.  She has completed two marathons (training for her third) and several triathlons and bike races.  Oh, and she has 4 kids.  She’s awesome.

3.  Running trails solo.

wetlands

There are some really great trails around Las Vegas and my favorite is an area called Wetlands Park that is a trail head to miles and miles of paved and unpaved trails along the Las Vegas Wash with beautiful views of the mountains, Lake Las Vegas and the Strip.  Sometimes it’s nice to just go out alone and enjoy the beauty.

4.  Running with my run club (Las Vegas Runners).

photo3

Every Wednesday and Saturday my run club hosts a running meetup.  Wednesdays are speed work at the track and Saturdays are long runs.  I’ve been with this group for about 3 months now and just love them.  Jeremy and Melissa and two really great people, as are all of the other folks who show up each week.  They are so encouraging and give out really great running advice.  It definitely makes getting out of bed at 4am a lot easier when I know I’m going to meet up with some great people.

5.  Running for a good cause.

photo1 (2)

If you read my 4th of July 5k Blast race recap, you know I recently ran as an Angel for Captain David as part of the my TEAM TRIUMPH team at a local race.  It was amazing and really fun for the Captains, Angels and families of the Captains.  I really enjoyed running for a good cause.

So, there you have it!  Another week, another Friday Five!  I hope you all have a fantastic weekend.  I’ll be racing in my very first triathlon tomorrow.  Stay tuned for a recap on how good (or bad) it went!

9 thoughts on “The Friday Five Link Up: Fitness Snapshots!

  1. Awesome Pics!!! I love that you run with your two girls! I’ll be adding another to my jogging stroller in a few months. The extra weight is slightly intimidating, but I know it will just make me stronger!!!
    Great job mama!!!

Leave a Reply

