Fueling With Real Food Series, Part 3: Coconut Water {and a giveaway!}

Now that we’ve covered a couple of foods in Part 1 and Part 2 of my Fueling With Real Food Series, I’d like to talk about beverages.  When I think of sports drinks, the first thing that comes to mind is Gatorade, PowerAde, Propel, etc. and it seems at just about every race when it comes to beverages your choices are these or water.  Unfortunately, although sports drinks are very convenient for replacing those lost electrolytes and sodium, they don’t agree with my body very well.  I’m not a soda drinker and other than my morning cup of coffee and my occasional glass (or two or three) of wine, I pretty much just stick to water.  So, it makes sense that sports drinks that are loaded with sugar would not agree with me since I’m not used to drinking sweet beverages.  I was looking for something more natural that I could drink after a long run or during an intense workout that would hydrate me and replace electrolytes and I found coconut water!

coconut-water-6f51be99d73fb9aacd1358747aea2de85aa4d2ff-s6-c30

(source)

Coconut water has been dubbed as nature’s sports drink.  It has fewer calories, less sodium and more potassium (as much as 4 bananas) than a typical sports drink.  Some studies have shown that it hydrates the body just as well as sports drinks.  However, because it is lower in sodium than typical sports drinks, if you’re using it to replace lost sodium from a really intense workout, sprinkle some sea salt in it prior to consuming.  Coconut water is very refreshing and some brands sell coconut water flavored with pineapple, mango, or peaches for a little extra taste.  For me personally, if I can fuel with something natural and get the same effects as something created in a lab, I would much rather go the natural way.

And now it’s time for my next giveaway!  The lovely folks over at Edward & Sons provided me with two cans of their organic coconut water and a cute little cooler that will hold 6 cans for your next outing!

IMG_8003

IMG_8002

To enter, tell me in the comments below if you’ve ever had coconut water.  Follow the Rafflecopter link to enter to win!  Contest starts today and ends Friday night at midnight (PST).

20 thoughts on “Fueling With Real Food Series, Part 3: Coconut Water {and a giveaway!}

  1. I love coconut water. But for some reason, only plain. None of the flavored varieties are any good to my taste. The wife loves coffee and mocha flavored coconut waters, and there are many different brands available at grocery and big box stores locally. I started saving sports drink bottles (rhymes with mater-ade) with twist off caps and pouring coconut water in there, so i can drink and re-seal as I go. The weird thing I notice is price differences. 16 oz cans can vary between $0.99 and $2.69, with all of them having only coconut water in the ingredient list. Hmmm….

  2. I have never been a fan of coconut water…maybe I have just gotten the wrong flavors?!

  3. Pingback: Hard Rock Hotel Staycation | vegas mother runner

  4. Pingback: 2 More Days and I’m a Ball of Nerves | vegas mother runner

Leave a Reply

