My New Year’s Resolutions

Okay, so I know it’s July and we’re six months past New Year’s, when we’re supposed to make our resolutions.  But, I’m the kind of person that fears committing to anything until I’m about halfway there and realistically know that I can complete it.  I guess I’m just afraid of setting myself up for failure, which is so bizarre for me because I’m the kind of person that never leaves anything unfinished (that’s the OCD in me coming out).

image

In January when everyone was making their New Year’s resolutions, the only thing on my radar was completing one half marathon.  Since then, I’ve complete one, plus two more, along with a few other races in between, and several more on the books.  So, I think it’s safe to put my resolutions out there now without fear of failure.  So here it goes:

1.  Run 1000 miles in 2014.  In the first half of 2014, I logged 476 miles.  I’m pretty sure I can make up the extra 24 miles I need in addition to my regular running schedule with the training I have coming up for two more half marathons.

2.  14 races in 2014.  Previous to this year, I think I’ve ran one 5k in my entire life.  So when I saw a lot of runners putting this out there for their 2014 goal it seemed way too daunting at the time.  But, fast forward to July and I’ve already got 6 races under my belt and 7 more on the books, which means I only need to find one more race to make this goal.

3.  Commit to a full marathon.  After a lot of humming and hawing, going back and forth, and doing some research, I think I’ve finally decided that I am capable of running a full marathon.  There is one particular race I have in mind, that I am going to try to get in to.  If I don’t get into that one, I’m going to look into other races.  But my goal is to at least sign up for one before the year is over.

4.  More pillow talk with my kids.  My one non-running related resolution is to have more chats with my kids before they go to sleep. Our kids sleep in our bed with us (my crunchy side is showing again) and every night I lay down with them while they fall asleep. More often than not, as soon as the lights go out I’m so quick to pull out my phone and start catching up on emails, Facebook, etc, even though my kids still want to talk to me. The times when I’ve left the phone off and actually talked to them while laying in the dark have actually been so enlightening. We talk about all kinds of things that don’t always come up in conversation during the day. I’ve loved the late night conversations we’ve had and I want to have more of them, so I’m going to work on resisting the temptation of the phone until our talks are done.

So, there it is.  My 2014 New Year’s Resolutions.  Better late than never, right?!?

Now I want to hear from you!  What are/were your New Year’s resolutions?  Have you completed them yet?

also, don’t forget my Fellow Flowers giveaway is still going on!

10 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. This year my New Year’s resolution is vague, but important! To be true to myself and be happy in all aspects of my life. It’s more work than you would think!
    Best of luck on your goals – can’t believe the year is half way gone already!!

  2. Pillow talk is my favorite. It’s so enlightening to hear them talk about what was important or stood out to them that day. I love my nightly chats with Cassidy. Have fun! xoxo

  3. Pingback: And That’s a Wrap! |

Leave a Reply

