Meet My New (Appliance) Addition

After my post about a favorite smoothie recipe of mine, I guess my blender just didn’t want to be in the spotlight anymore because that was literally the last smoothie it made.  Shortly after blending it all up, it died a slow, agonizing death full of horrifying sounds and lots of black smoke.  It was quite a dramatic exit.  And while this blender was nothing fancy at all, it actually had quite a bit of sentimental value to me.  First off, it was a wedding gift, and it was also the blender I used to make every single ounce of pureed food that both my kids ate when they were babies.  Not to mention the countless smoothies we’ve made with it.  I’m sad to see it go, but alas, I must move on.

move_on

While I’d love nothing more than to drop $500 on a super fancy Vitamix blender, I really just can’t justify it.  Especially when there are so many more important things to spend money on (like race fees, hello?).  So I did a bunch of research on “budget friendly” blenders and narrowed it down to this one:

Blender

Say hello to my new KitchenAid® 5-Speed Diamond Blender.  Isn’t it pretty?  And while it doesn’t have all the fancy bells and whistles of some other higher priced blenders, it does come with a lot of really good features that make it a great value.  The things I love about it:

  • Only set me back $110 (after coupons).
  • Generous 60 oz. pitcher for making one batch of smoothies for the whole family.
  • Vintage looking design and tons of colors to choose from (15 of them to be exact).
  • Pitcher is dishwasher friendly.
  • Performs as well or better than it’s higher priced peers (according to an in depth review and testing by CNET.com)

KitchenAid_Color_Options

So if you’re in the market for a new blender, but don’t want to drop as much as your monthly car payment on one, this is really a great buy!  I’m sad to see my old blender go, but look forward to the many memories to be made with this new one!

Do you own a fancy schmancy blender or a budget friendly blender like me?  Do you love your blender?  Do any of your appliances hold sentimental value to you?

3 thoughts on “Meet My New (Appliance) Addition

Leave a Reply

