Dinner and a Show in Las Vegas {a review}

Yesterday was my husbands birthday so to celebrate we decided to have a night out on the town.  We had heard really great things about the show The Book of Mormon when it was on Broadway so as soon as we heard it was coming to Las Vegas, we bought tickets the moment they went on sale.  We invited our good friends Len & Sarah, but this just wasn’t Len’s gig, so it was me, Vince and Sarah for the night.

mingo

The show was being performed at The Smith Center which I love because not only is the theater beautiful, but it is so easy to get in and out of and you don’t have to deal with going on the strip.

For our pre-show dinner, we wanted to eat somewhere nearby, and at the recommendation of several people, we decided on Mingo Kitchen and Lounge.

mingos

 (photo courtesy of eatmixmingo.com)

Mingo’s is located near downtown in the arts district just off of Charleston.  The whole restaurant is only about 1000 square feet, but it also opens up to an outdoor patio.  It is very swanky looking with black leather interior and funky chandeliers hanging from the ceiling.  We started out with a round of drinks and Sarah and I were delighted that they had Lindemans Framboise raspberry beer that we were drinking in Phoenix (seriously if you have not tried this beer you must do so immediately), along with a surprise shot (that we never really found out what was in it) because you have to do shots on your birthday.  Then for food, Sarah and I both had their skirt steak salad (curry crusted skirt steak, baby spinach and arugula, maytag blue cheese, crispy onion rings, tomatoes, candied pecans, horseradish cream, balsamic reduction) and Vince had the Notorious P.I.G. (hot dog, pickled jalapenos, horseradish mac & cheese, crispy bacon).

hotdog

(The Notorious P.I.G.)

For dessert Vince wanted their deep fried oreos (so healthly, right?).  The food was outstanding.  My salad was so good.  The steak was cooked perfectly and had a nice little crust on the outside.  The horseradish cream was delish as well and I finished every last bite.  The deep friend oreos are not really my thing, but they were good (you can’t really go wrong with deep friend anything, right?).  Service was a little slow, but overall I would give it a thumbs up.

When we were finished with dinner, it was off to the show!

smiths

Because we bought our tickets like 6 months ago, our seats were pretty good.  We were on the main floor, about 2/3 the way back.  The show was hilariously wrong on so many levels I can’t even describe it.  It was created by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, who are also the creators of South Park.  It was very explicit and you really have to have a good sense of humor to enjoy it, but OMG was it funny!  It’s definitely not for everybody, as was proven by the couple that got up and left after about the first 15 minutes, but if you want a good laugh and don’t get offended too easily, I would highly recommend it.  We have seen our fair share of shows on and off Broadway and Vince and I both agree that it is the best show we’ve ever seen.

All in all, it was a great birthday night for Vince and we all really had an enjoyable time.

happy-birthday-my-love-21

Also, today I am being featured on Yesenia Emeric’s blog (It’s a Messy Life) as part of her Inspiring Women Series. Thank you Yesenia for giving me the opportunity to chat with you!! Looking forward to future get togethers and running events!

And don’t forget, my Sweaty Bands giveaway is still going on!

7 thoughts on “Dinner and a Show in Las Vegas {a review}

  1. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or
    vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel
    free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Wonderful blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

