So, this happened yesterday…

Bike

Woah…that’ me…on a bike.  Like, a real bike, with really cool stuff on it (did you know bikes have computers on them now?).

Last week I posted about my upcoming triathlon, which will be my first one ever, so of course I had to nail down a bike.  As much as I’d love to just jump into the sport head first and spend a gazillion dollars on triathlon stuff (because honestly that’s about how much all this stuff costs), I’m reserving judgment for after my race.  I love to swim…I love to run (obviously), biking…well, I guess we’ll find out in the next month.  But triathlons are a HUGE commitment, especially financially.  So, this bike is a loaner.  Once again, the awesome triathlon community here is Las Vegas stepped up to help out a newbie and a friend of a friend graciously loaned me a bike.  I got a rundown on all the functions from my triathlon friend Frank and we took it out for a little test spin (where he was paying a little too much attention to me and not enough to the road and rode right into my car…doh!).  I didn’t realize there was so much to learn on a bike.  My wheels were spinning (like how I did that there?) just trying to figure out which gear is for what and when you switch gears, not to mention all the other components.  Hopefully I can get enough riding in the next month to have it somewhat figured out by July 11th!

Do you ever go bike riding?  Do you have any biking advice for me?

Don’t forget, my FlipBelt giveaway is still going on!

8 thoughts on “So, this happened yesterday…

    • That’s awesome! Good luck! I was sitting talking with my friend after we tested out the bike and he was showing me all of his triathlon equipment and telling me how much each thing cost. I added up at least $3000.

  1. You’re brave for leaving a month to figure it all out! lol! That was super nice of your friend’s friend to loan that bike to you–I love the support people give each other. Looking forward to hearing how your bike rides go!

  2. I don’t really have any advice, but I am decent on a bike. (When I lived in California I mountain biked almost every Saturday and also it was my main form of transportation when I lived in Ventura.) The swimming is what keeps me out of the triathlon circuit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

