Phoenix Weekend Getaway

Over the weekend we took a little trip to Phoenix with a group of our friends to celebrate some birthdays, a wedding and to have some kid free time to ourselves. Our oldest daughter is 4 and this is the first time my husband and I have gone away together without the kids (and only the second time I’ve ever left them). We were definitely long overdue! I really do prefer doing things as a family and miss my kids so much when I’m not around them, so I usually don’t have any desire to leave them. But it was nice to be able to sleep in, go shopping by ourselves and take a nap!

photo1 (2)

On Friday I got to meet the lovely Angelica from hellyontherun and her husband Ben. I know Angelica from on online moms group that we’ve been a part of for over two years, so it was wonderful to finally meet her in person. They came to our hotel where we were taking advantage of the complimentary happy hour and we got to chat for a couple of hours about running. parenting and each other’s lives. She was so fun to talk to and I’m so happy we were able to meet up!

photo3

After happy hour, we went to a pizzaria + wine bar called La Bocca. It is located on Mill Avenue which is a really fun area. Lots of restaurants, bars and night clubs all within walking distance of each other. The food was excellent at La Bocca as was the service. After that we walked up the street to World of Beer, which is pretty self explanatory as far as what type of bar it is. We all tried different beers and it was fun sampling each other’s and trying out some new ones. My favorite was Lindemans Framboise, a sweet raspberry beer. Normally I don’t like sweet drinks, but this one was aaaaaamazing!

photo4

On Saturday, our group was all a step slow from the previous night’s shenanigans, but myself, my husband, and our friends Brett and Maris went out into the heat and did a 4 mile run around the neighborhood. It was not the most pleasant run, but we felt so much better afterwards, so we were really glad we did it.

photoPhoenix

After that we had to take advantage of some shopping and eating that we can’t do in Las Vegas. We hit up Ikea (I love this store so much…seriously Vegas, please get an Ikea) and then lunch at Chick-fil-A. Then we took a nap and got ready for round two.

photo2

One of our friends who lives in the Phoenix area, recently got married so he was having a party at his house to celebrate their wedding plus a few of our friend’s birthdays. His house is right on a lake with a killer deck overlooking the water and a swimming pool. We had a great time hanging with our friends. Our group of friends go way back, but over the years people have moved, had kids, etc., so we don’t get to hang out as often as we’d like to. It was so fun having the old gang back together, telling funny stories and catching up.

photo2phoenix

On Sunday it was time to get back to our babies, and boy was I sure missing them. After a quick bite to eat, we started the drive back. Five hours later we were home sweet home.

We had such a good time and I’m so happy that so many of our friends were able to make the trip and that we were able to squeeze in a run! Good times were had by all!

How was your weekend? Have you ever been to Phoenix?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Phoenix Weekend Getaway

  1. I’ve only been to Phoenix one time and it was a few years ago (it’s also the only time I’ve ever been to the Grand Canyon and it’s the only time I’ve been to an NBA game). I actually don’t remember too much – except that it was hot!

  2. I’ve only been to Phoenix for layovers. I always wished I could have stayed to hang out! One of these days I want to go visit Helly out there so you should come back down!! It sounds like a fun weekend! (Vegas really needs an Ikea.)

  3. I have been to Phoenix a few times. In fact, I lived out there for a few months. My brother, sister in law and niece live out there. I haven’t told Helly this yet but I plan to meet up with her the next time I go out there. haha. Maybe you can come too!

Leave a Reply

