Why I love the Athletic Community

Something awesome happened yesterday.  But, first a little back story…

Even though most of my exercise these days is running, I am really a swimmer at heart.  I grew up swimming competitively and still love to jump in the pool and swim laps when I get a chance.  A couple of months ago I competed in the annual City of Las Vegas Corporate Challenge Swimming Event.  I participated in 4 races (50yd freestyle, 200yd freestyle, 50yd backstroke, and 50yd butterfly in the medley relay) and took home 4 first place medals.  I was so excited about how well I did, that I let my triathlon friend Frank talk me into signing up for a triathlon (I really don’t know what I was thinking).  His group, the Las Vegas Triathlon Club, puts on several sprint triathlon events each year, more or less as training events for their members.  So, I joined the club and signed up for the next sprint triathlon to be held on July 11th.

So, back to the something awesome.  Yesterday, I was on Facebook (real shocker, I know!) and a member of the triathlon club posted this:

photo1

OMG, how awesome would that be?!?  I mean, I have a Garmin, but it is only for running.  This one is for everything!  Plus it comes with a bike mount kit and a heart rate monitor.  And she’s just giving it away???  I messaged her immediately and she so graciously let me take it off her hands.

And this is why I love the athletic community so much.  Who else would just give something like this away in hopes that they would someday return the favor?  Most people would see it as an opportunity to make a few extra bucks by unloading it on Craigslist.  But she obviously has a passion for her sport and wants to help other people reach their goals too.  I already love her and I don’t even know her.  But, she is a dear friend of Frank, so I already knew she was good people.

So, now I’m stuck with a dilemma.  Obviously, I have her first condition met.  I’m definitely going to use it.  But what about the second condition.  I want to pay this forward, but how?  And, since I’m somewhat new to the running scene, and really, really new to the triathlon scene, I really don’t have anything worth handing down to a newbie.  What should I do?  How could I pay this awesome gesture forward?

Tell me what your ideas are.  I’d love to hear your input!

Have a wonderful Friday!

Jules

P.S.  I am super excited for this weekend because I am leaving for Phoenix today and I get to finally meet my internet friend Helly from hellyontherun, who is a fellow runner, awesome motivator and amazing mom!  Go check out her blog and tell her I sent you!

12 thoughts on “Why I love the Athletic Community

  1. I agree the athletic community is the best. That’s awesome about the gear you received from that very generous lady . I was just thinking maybe you could pass your trail shoes you don’t like to someone who wants to start trail running. Just a thought…

  2. Pingback: So, this happened yesterday… | vegas mother runner

  3. Pingback: Exercising When You’re Sick: Should You or Shouldn’t You? | vegas mother runner

Leave a Reply

