Mom’s Rock! (We really do…)

This Mother’s Day weekend was hands down the absolute best Mother’s Day weekend I have had since becoming a mother.  I couldn’t have asked for anything more than everything that happened.

The weekend started off with a 10k race that I signed up for called Mom’s Rock.  It’s put on by a local race company called Jus Run.  They really do a great job of putting on racing events.  Most of their events are 10k/5k/1 mile fun run and you really get a mixed bag of serious and fun runners.  There were runners looking to PR, runners in tutus, parents with their kids in jogging strollers and even some tots doing the 1 mile fun run.  The race was held at Floyd Lamb State Park, which is a beautiful park in the northwest area that has a big pond, lots of trees and a ton of wildlife (I actually had to dodge some peacocks during the race).  They also had music going and some booths set up with running gear for sale.

The race started at 7am, with a raffle drawing at 6:40am (which I had bought tickets for) so I had to be there pretty early.  I picked up my friend Heather, who was also doing the 10k and we headed over to the park.  I was so excited when they did the raffle because I won a $50 gift card to a really yummy restaurant here called Rachel’s Kitchen.  That was definitely worth the $5 I spent in raffle tickets and the 20 extra minutes I had to arrive early to win it!

I was just slightly freaking out for this race because when I left to pick Heather up, I realized I left my Garmin at home.  I hadn’t realized how dependent I have become on that thing.  I wanted to use the virtual pacer to keep my pace up for this race and now that plan was gone.  What I was most worried about was not knowing what point I was at in the race.  But, what could I do?  I didn’t have time to go back and get it, so I would just have to run without it and do my best.

Just before 7am we headed over to the start line.  At this point I had come to terms with the fact that I didn’t have my Garmin and I decided I was just going to run as best as I could and really listen to my body.  I was so much less stressed about the race than if I had been worried about making a certain pace, I was actually kind of happy I left it at home.  The gun fired and we were off!  I quickly made my way to the front and tried to gauge my pace on feel.  I was extremely happy that they had the course set up really well with each mile marked so I knew exactly where I was.  I ended up tailing this older man for the first two miles.  I was really impressed with him because he had to have been at least 50 years old.  He was so awesome.  After about mile 2, I was feeling good, so I passed him and kept on trucking.  The course was very pretty and mostly flat, but it was windy so there were some tough stretches where the wind was blowing against us.  I was getting pretty tired by mile 5, but refused to slow down.  The 5k-ers and the 1 milers were mixed in with us on portions of the course (it was so cute seeing these little toddlers running!), so it was hard to tell my place, but when I rounded the last bend and had the finish line in sight, I charged it with all the energy I had.  I ended up with an official time of 47:00 minutes for a 7:35/mile pace…a new 10k PR for me!

When I crossed the finish line, I was given my medal and each mom got a flower.  I found Vince and the girls and collapsed on the grass for a bit while they hugged and congratulated me on my great time.  When it came time for awards, I was hoping to at least get 3rd in my age group, but wasn’t expecting much.  When they got to the 30-39 female 10k category, I heard my name called and went up and was told I got 1st place in my age group!  I couldn’t believe it!  I also found out I got 3rd female overall!  I was so happy and I really think leaving my Garmin at home was the best thing I could have done for this race.  I was so much more relaxed and focused on doing my best rather than some time I set for myself.  I think I might be ditching it for future races as well.

After the race we had a relaxing day for the rest of the day.  I was supposed to have some professional pictures taken that afternoon (my Mother’s Day gift from Vince) but it was too windy, so we had to reschedule.  We decided to have Mexican night at home instead, so Vince and I made up some amazing beer battered halibut fish tacos, some guacamole and had some cevezas.

On Mother’s Day morning I got up at 5:45am to meet up with some runners from my running club (did I mention I joined a running club?  I’ll write about that later) to do a trail run out at Red Rock.  There is a trail half marathon there next weekend that I signed up for last minute and wanted to check out the course.  Unfortunately, it was extremely windy (50-75 mph gusts) so we turned around after 3 miles and headed back, for a total of 6 miles (I wanted to do at least 8).  But I was happy to get a run in because I knew I’d be consuming a large amount of calories that day!

When I got home, the girls gave me their presents.  Annalie and Stella picked out some pretty flowers for me and Annalie made me a flower and vase in preschool, and also drew a picture of me and wrote on the bottom, “My mom is special because she helps me crack eggs and she loves me.”  Haha, gotta laugh at that one!

Then, we went to brunch at the Springs Preserve.  It was delicious and I definitely got my money’s worth!  They had so much amazing food and bottomless mimosas (even peach mimosas!).  Afterwards we took the girls to play on the playground there before heading home for naps.

Later that day we went out to dinner at Bahama Breeze with Vince’s parents and sister’s family.  Dinner was delicious and they had some live music going on, which the girls loved dancing to.

It was such a fun weekend from the race to the quality family time.  I couldn’t ask for anything more.  I hope all you mothers had an amazing Mother’s Day as I did!

 
 
ETA:  After I published this post I was contacted by the Moms Rock rage organizers.  There was a mix up with the results and I actually got 2nd place overall female (not 3rd place).  They mailed me this beautiful crystal perfume dropper award.
 

4 thoughts on “Mom’s Rock! (We really do…)

  1. Pingback: Dads Rock Too Race Recap (and a FlipBelt Winner!) | vegas mother runner

  2. Pingback: ET Full Moon Midnight Race Recap {and a LÄRABAR winner!} | vegas mother runner

  3. Pingback: Saying Goodbye is Never Easy |

  4. Pingback: And That’s a Wrap! |

Leave a Reply

