A Couple of Great Milestones

I know I say this all the time, but my girls are just growing up so fast!  It seems like every week they are doing some new, or mastering something that used to be difficult for them.  And, it’s always bittersweet, because as much as I love seeing them learn and grow, I wish I could slow down time because it just goes by so quickly.

About three weeks ago Stella pretty much decided she was done with diapers.  I was in no way, shape or form ready to potty train her.  Annalie was 2 1/2 when I potty trained her and since it was such a breeze, I had planned on doing the same with Stella.  Well, she had other plans.  She became a nightmare to get a diaper on (wrestling me, having complete meltdowns, etc.) and then one day she figured out how to take her diaper off and that was it.  I’d spend 10 minutes trying to get one on her and then she’d run off and take it off and put it in the diaper genie.  That little stinker!  So, I really had no choice but to potty train her.  I did the 3 day potty training method with her, just like I did with Annalie.  Basically, you just stay home for 3 days, have them naked from the waist down the whole time and put a potty in a very accessible area.  Oh, and ditch the diapers for good (even at night).  This sounds kind of extreme, but I swear it totally works.  Not to say either of my kids were 100% potty trained by the third day, but probably about 90%, which is good enough for me to be done with diapers.  Stella did great.  She had a few accidents, even after the 3 days, but about a week in, something finally clicked and she started telling me when she had to go potty, and would also go on command when I put her on the potty.  She also will now go in a public restroom, which she pretty much refused to do at first.  She hasn’t had an accident in several days so I think she was definitely ready.  I am so happy to be done with diapers!

And, on another note, Annalie is reading!  I am so happy about this!  She has known all the letters and the sounds they make for a really long time, but I just didn’t know what to do next with her.  We were at dinner at our friend’s house about a month ago and my friend had a set of sight words flash cards that she had been using for her daughter.  So, I bought a set for Annalie and every night before we read stories we go through 5 flashcards and then read a sentence (each flashcard has a sentence on the back that uses the word on the front).  At first it would take her a while to sound out each word and we had to work on the phonetics, but now she is really doing great.  She can sound out just about any word and is reading sentences all by herself.  I am so proud of her! 

These kids just amaze me every single day and I couldn’t be more proud to be their mother.

Oh, and we got to have a fun little girls day out yesterday.  I took them to Disney on Ice with my friend Heather and her daughter.  We all had a blast!

Leave a Reply

