Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

How delighted was I this morning as I was checking my emails and reading some of my favorite blogs to see that my friend (and fellow healthy March mom) Lauren from Run Salt Run had been given the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award and had in turn chosen me as one of her 10 nominees to pass it along to.  Yay, an award!  How fun!  So here it is in all its glory:

 
Pretty cute, right?  A little play off of The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, which I loved both the book and the movie.  So here is what I have to do now that I’ve been so honored to receive this prestigious award: 
 
1.  Post the logo on your blog.
2.  Thank the person who nominated you.
3.  Answer the questions.
4.  Choose 10 or so other ladies who blog as your nominees.
5.  Post the links to the nominees’ blogs and notify them on their blog.
 
Okay, so here are my answers to the questions!
 
Favorite Color
 
This is a tough one for me because my favorite color is always changing.  It used to be red for the longest time, but then I kind of moved past that and fell in love with really dark purples.  I’ve been kind of obsessed with dark purple nail polish lately and have about 5 different shades, my new favorite being this one I just bought and happen to be wearing right now (I just love the Zoya brand of nail polish too):
 
Favorite Animal
 
This one is easy.  Dogs.  I just love dogs.  I have two and they are my second children.  Dogs are just the greatest companions.  They are always happy to see you, love you unconditionally, and clean up all the food the kids throw on the floor (I seriously don’t know what people with young children do that don’t have dogs).
 
Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink
 
This is hands down coffee.  I LOVE my coffee, but am also somewhat of a coffee snob.  My coffee has to be whole bean, ground fresh and brewed just before drinking.  Which is why I absolutely love my coffee maker.  I have the Cuisinart Grind & Brew Thermal Automatic Coffee Maker.  This coffee maker is awesome.  At night before bed, all I have to do is put the whole beans in it, add water and hit the timer button.  At 6am, it will grind the coffee beans and then brew my coffee.  And the absolute best part…instead of having a glass carafe that sits on a warmer, it has a thermal carafe that keeps my coffee nice and hot without any additional heat.  Keeping coffee hot by sitting on a burner always leads to burnt stale tasting coffee.  With a thermal carafe, the coffee stays hot inside for about 3 hours with no electricity and no burning.  It is wonderful.  Now, I do love to indulge in Starbucks now and then, but it’s too hard on my wallet, so I usually stick to my yummy homemade coffee.  Oh, and did I mention that I buy my coffee beans in bulk from Amazon’s Subscribe and Save program?  Another great money saver.  Check it out!
 
Facebook or Twitter
 
Facebook for sure.  I am on Twitter, and I have tweeted a handful of times, but I’ve never been that into it.  The limits on the number of characters, broken sentences, retweeting….blah….just not a huge fan.  I love Facebook.  I probably spend way too much time on there, but I just love that I can go to one social media website and get status updates from my friends, breaking news stories from my favorite news outlets, notifications on current sales and/or promotions from my favorite stores, events around town, etc.  It’s like a one-stop shop for all the information I need on a daily basis. 
 
Favorite Pattern
 
Does glitter count as a pattern?  If so, then that is my choice.  I’m kind of obsessed with glitter.  I have eye shadow with glitter in it (my favorite being Urban Decay’s Midnight Cowboy), I have many glitter nailpolishes, and I love clothes that have a bit of sparkle to them.  Who doesn’t want to sparkle (can we say Twilight anyone)?
 
 
 
What is Your Passion?
 
Definitely being a Mom to my amazing girls.  It has been the absolute most amazing experience and I just love our little family.  My girls (and my husband) are my life and every decision is made with them in mind.  They make me feel so many emotions that I would otherwise be deprived of (happiness, sadness, exhilaration, worry, gratefulness, fear, etc.).  They give me so much purpose in life and having them was the best thing that I have ever done.  Not to mention that I feel like I am pretty good at it too.  Not that I’m a perfect parent (far from it), but I really feel like I have embraced motherhood and I just really enjoy being around my kids and even though having a break every once in a while is nice, I would much rather spend a day with them than doing anything else.  And that, I think, is one of the most important things in parenting.  To want to be a parent and to enjoy it.  Everything else will fall into place.
 
I have a few other things that I passionately dabble in, like photography, running, reading, cooking, and of course, we can’t forget my passion for all things Howard Stern (I had to throw him in there somehow).  They are fun hobbies that I’ve been enjoying doing lately.
 
 
 
Now I’m supposed to pick 10 ladies to pass this award on to.  Well, I don’t have 10 friends that I know that blog, so I’m picking 4.  Hey, what do you want from me?  And even though some of these girls don’t blog on a regular basis, maybe this will give them some motivation to write a post!  So, here goes!
 
My partner in crime Sarah at A Cotti’s Life.
 
My sister Sallie at My Sister’s Kitchen.
 
My friend Christin at Dear Diary.
 
My fellow March (and healthy) Mom Angelica at Helly On The Run.
 
Thank you Lauren for putting a smile on my face today!  This was fun!
 
2 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. I LOVE all your answers! And I extra love that nail polish that you posted and think that I need to go in search of it.

    I have a cat that is kind of like a dog and will eat whatever Betty drops on the floor, so at least we have that part covered in my house. I don't know what people without dogs or an Oskie would do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

