The Dress…

If you’ve been reading my blog then you know how over the moon excited I am to be attending Howard Stern’s birthday bash. Well, after I had calmed down a little from the excitement and booked our travel arrangements, my next thought was, “What in the world am I going to wear?”

This party is kind of complicated to dress for. It’s a birthday party/stand up comedy show/concert (oh yeah, did I mention they announced Aerosmith is one of the bands playing?), not to mention there will be a red carpet (not that I’m actually going to be on the red carpet). I knew I had to wear a dress, but what kind of dress? A party dress, black tie dress, formal gown? Not to mention New York City is the Mecca of fashion! Oh, decisions, decisions!

After scouring the internet for several days, I decided to go straight to the source. What better person to ask than Beth O.? After all, she is Howard’s wife, she will be there, and she has amazing style. So, I took to Twitter to see if I could get any information from her. I tweeted out to her asking what she was wearing and to my delight, she responded! “Cocktail dress.” Perfect! Now I’m getting somewhere!
I had had my eye on this great LBD from Nordstroms that I thought might fit the bill. Because their return policy is so amazing, I went ahead and ordered it. It is a very lovely dress and it fit great, but as the days went by, I found myself continuing to search online for something better. To me, that means I had not found The One yet. 
So, I continued to search and I came along a website called Rent The Runway. What is this? Rent a dress? Why didn’t I think of that before? 
This company is ingenious. For about what I paid for my Nordstrom dress, I can rent a real designer dress to wear to the party. After all, typically when I buy a dress for an occasion, I never wear it again. I have so many dresses collecting dust in my closet that I paid good money for. So why not spend the same amount, get an even better dress that I could never afford, and be done with it after the event? Yes please! 
The only issue I had was not being able to try on the dress in advance. Granted, they do send you two different sizes and you can get any back up dress for $25, but there were so many to choose from. How would I ever decide? Well it turns out that even though the company is based in Manhattan, they just happen to have one other location and it just happens to be in Las Vegas! Which meant I could go in and try on as many dresses as I wanted and have my own personal stylist help me choose one. Gold mine!!
I immediately scheduled an appointment and in the meantime was pouring over their selection of dresses online. Their Las Vegas store is located inside The Cosmopolitan, which I have decided is the most stunning hotel in Las Vegas. It is a very swanky boutique style store with hundreds of dresses and gowns to choose from. My stylist and I immediately got to work looking for the perfect dress for the occasion. There were a few that I really liked, but not completely sold on yet, when my stylist brought me back the absolutely perfect dress. It was the perfect combination of sexy, trendy, sophisticated, and stylish. As soon as I tried it on I knew I had found my dress. We immediately made my reservation and my stylist made the arrangements for my dress. Not only will they ship the dress directly to my hotel in NYC, but they are also sending two different sizes and some hemming tape so I can shorten the dress a little (it was a little too long for my 5’3″ self). Once I’m done with it, I just put it in the prepaid envelope, drop it in the mail and I’m done! She also gave me $25 off for it being my first time. 
I am so impressed with this company. Amazing customer service. They handle everything from start to finish. I don’t think I’ll ever buy a dress for an event again!
So, what was my final selection? What amazing dress did I decide on? You’ll have to wait and see! After all, I want to show it off when I’m all done up and accessorized. Stay tuned!
Leave a Reply

