And the Winner is………………

Anyone who knows me well knows that I am a huge Howard Stern fan. I’ve been listening to him faithfully since I was 18 years old and was dating a guy who was a huge fan. He got me into it and I’ve been hooked ever since. When Howard moved over to Sirius, I bought my radio six months early just so I was ready. I have his calendars he puts out every year where he photographs his beautiful wife with rescue pets for the North Shore Animal League that they do charity work for. I watch him faithfully on America’s Got Talent. And my other fan friends and I talk about him like he’s a member of our family. It has always been on my bucket list to meet him someday.

So, when he announced on his show that Sirius was throwing him a birthday bash in New York City and that it was an event strictly for the fans, I wanted nothing more than to be there. However, you can’t just buy tickets. You have to win tickets. And out of all his millions of listeners, only 1,500 tickets are being given out. The show has set up several ways to win (an online sweepstakes, Twitter contest, calling in to the show, etc.) and of course I entered them all. My friend Sarah (who is also a huge die hard fan like me) and I made a pact that if either of us won we’d take each other. After all, my husband is not a big fan like me and someone would need to stay with the kids anyway.
The party is being held at Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan and is going to be hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, along with the show staff and several other celebrities in attendance. There will be a red carpet, good food and drinks, and of course HOWARD! What a freakin amazing party to attend, especially for a huge fan like myself. Who wouldn’t want to win tickets?
Then, this past Sunday I was just casually checking my email while putting the girls down for their naps when I saw it. An email addressed to me from the Executive Producer of the Howard Stern Show with the subject line, “Congratulations! You’ve won Howard Bday Bash Tix!” I started to shake. And then I screamed (waking up both my girls that had just fallen asleep). And then I called Sarah and we screamed like two school girls for at least fifteen minutes. We were going. We were in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
After a phone call to the producer to verify it was for real, we immediately booked our flights and hotel room. 
I could not have asked for a better Christmas gift. I would have been happy to just meet Howard someday and shake his hand and tell him how much I love him, but to get to actually hang out with him and all the other staff for a night in New York City? What an absolute dream come true. 
I cannot wait to go. It will be a night I cherish for the rest of my life. And to have my bestie along side with me who will appreciate it just as much as I will…the whole thing is just unbelievable. I keep thinking someone is going to call me up and say there’s been a mistake. If there is one thing in my life that I wanted to do (aside you know,
from raising my kids and growing old with my husband, etc.) this is the top of my list hands down.
I feel like the luckiest girl in the whole world.
 
One thought on “And the Winner is………………

Leave a Reply

