She’s Not a Baby Anymore…

When Annalie had her first birthday, I remember thinking to myself even though technically she was a toddler now, she was still very much a baby. It seems to me that the transition from a baby to a toddler occurs somewhere between 12 and 18 months. But of course it doesn’t happen overnight. It is a gradual process. One day they are still too young to do something and the next day they’ve got it all figured out.

Well, I think Stella has made that transition. It’s been little things here and there, like talking more and developing her personality. But this weekend I noticed so many things that she can do now and it’s like she has always been that way.  For example, yesterday she climbed up onto one of our barstools and promptly asked me for a “Snack!”  I was like, “Well, okay little lady!”  Then later that day, I was going to make chocolate chip cookies, so I asked her if she wanted to help and of course she did, so I set up our kitchen stool in front of the mixer and she helped me scoop and pour all the ingredients and even helped me use the cookie scoop to scoop the batter onto the baking sheet.  And then when it was time to pick out a book for bed, she didn’t want a board book, she wanted a real book with real pages, and sat through and enjoyed the whole thing.  She also started refusing to sleep in her crib at all, so now she naps and sleeps at night in our bed (this is funny because Annalie did the same thing at almost this exact age too).  All these little things that don’t seem like much on their own, but when I started thinking about them all together, I started realizing that these are only things that a toddler does, not a baby.  Which makes me come to the bittersweet reality that she is no longer a baby, but a full on running, talking, laughing, knowing exactly what she wants toddler.

Although, she’ll always be my baby.

Leave a Reply

