Outdoor Toy Storage

Part II of my backyard organization project this summer was to come up with something to store all of the outdoor toys (you can read about Part I here).  Usually they’re just thrown everywhere and every few days I’ll go out there and round them all up and put them in a big pile.  I needed something that was weatherproof, easily accessible to my kids, and that looked nice.  I started my search on Pinterest and found some inspiration here and here.  After some thought, though, I decided to go with plastic weatherproof tubs rather than metal buckets for a few reasons.  First, I though the buckets would be too heavy for my girls to lift, and second, those metal buckets would get pretty hot in the Las Vegas summer heat.  So I started searching for something lighter that would withstand the elements and I found these life bins.  They are lightweight and are made for indoors and out. 

Now I had my perfect storage containers, but I needed something to put them on.  I found this shelf at Home Depot.  I really like it because it is a dark bronze, which goes great with my patio furniture.  Technically it says it’s for indoor use, but my patio is covered, so I think it will be just fine. 

Lastly, I needed some sort of labels for my bins.  I don’t have a cricut machine to make nice labels like I saw on Pinterest, so the next best thing I could think of was buying some chalkboard labels and writing on them with a chalk marker.  I found the perfect labels on Etsy and picked up a chalk marker at Michael’s.   Once I had everything I needed, Annalie helped me decide how we would organize the toys into separate bins and then I wrote out my labels and put them on the bins.  Voila!  Outdoor toy storage done!

Now I’ll be able to relax a little more when we’re out in the backyard this summer.

6 thoughts on “Outdoor Toy Storage

Leave a Reply

