1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Our library has started a new program called 1000 Books Before Kindergarten. To get started, they give you a folder with a blank list that goes up to 100 for you to write down all the books you read with your child. After the list is filled up, you turn it in, your child gets a small prize and you get a new blank sheet. When you get to 1000 books you get a nice book bag and a book.

My girls are both total book worms, but even so, it seemed a bit daunting to read 1000 books before Kindergarten with Annalie since she’s already over 3 years old. But, once I started writing down every book we read, I realized that this will not be hard at all. We read on average six books a day. Three before her nap and three before bed. Sometimes we’ll read some throughout the day too. By my calculations, we should have this done in about six months. Stella will be even easier because she would read all day if I let her, plus her books are shorter. With her, we average about 15 books a day. She’ll have this thing done in no time!
I love to read and I love that my girls do too. Maybe someday we can have our own book club.

Leave a Reply

