Momtography

On our way home from my sister’s house in St. George last Christmas, Vince accidentally left my camera on top of our car.  And although we heard and saw exactly where it fell off, Vince was not about to let me run on to the freeway in the Gorge to get it. On top of that, my beloved photographer temporarily closed her business due to medical issues, so I decided to take the plunge and buy a DSLR camera so I could take my own professional looking photos of the kids. After doing a lot of research, I decided on the Canon Rebel T3i. It came down to being a great starter DSLR camera and also the biggest bang for my buck.

I decided that there was no point in having this great camera if I didn’t know how to properly use it, so I searched around a bit and came across a deal on Groupon for an all day photography class. Larry Hanna, a local photographer, taught the class and he is an amazing teacher. He is very hands on, patient, and had no problems letting us all put of his very expensive lenses on our cameras to see what kind of photos they could produce. I learned so much in that one day and hope to take more classes in the future.
One of his recommendations for me, because I am primarily using my camera to take photos of my children, was to buy a 50mm lens (or otherwise known as a ‘nifty fifty’).  With this lens you can use a larger aperture, which gives you a real nice bokeh (the blurred background). So, my wonderful husband bought me this lens I had been dying for as a Mother’s Day present. I love this lens and am so excited to take some new photos of the girls with it.
Happy Mother’s Day to all you amazing moms out there!

One thought on “Momtography

  1. Your pics with your new camera are amazing. I love them. I have debated about getting one myself. The size is such a deterrent for me but I know they take much better photos. I can't wait to see what the new lens does!

Leave a Reply

