My Un-Girly Girl

Annalie, my 3.5 year old, is probably the most un-girly girl that I know. I have several friends with girls the same age and they all just love dressing up, wearing jewelry, anything princess and the color pink. I hear stories from these moms of their girls having fits because they can’t wear their Cinderella costume to dinner. Me on the other hand, I’m dealing with quite the opposite. It is like pulling teeth to get Annalie to wear anything other than a t-shirt and sport shorts and God forbid if there is not blue in her outfit somewhere! She does not play with dolls or dress up. She doesn’t like jewelry or any princess movies. And if you ask her, she’ll tell you she doesn’t like girls (although she does actually have some girl friends). She does love cars, trucks, trains, bugs, snakes, robots and building things. She’s happiest when she’s getting dirty (aka making a mess) and her favorite outings with Daddy are to the Rebel basketball games. As much as I would love to dress her up in cute outfits and put her hair in pigtails and bows, I realize it’s not who she is and I want her to grow up knowing that the most important thing is to be herself and own it all the way. So, I let her pick out her clothes, I buy her the toys she wants and I sign her up for activities that she wants to do (like her wood shop class). After all, I picked a profession where I am highly outnumbered by my male coworkers and it’s worked out great. Maybe Stella will be a girly girl so all these unworn clothes in Annalie’s closet can be put to use.

One thought on “My Un-Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

