I’m Officially Obsessed…

Okay, I am going to admit it…I am totally and utterly obsessed with King Henry VIII. It all started when my sister recommended the book “The Other Boleyn Girl” which I took with me on our Europe vacation and finished in 5 days! BTW…the book was over 600 pages, but I could not put it down. That was my first real encounter with King Henry VIII, other than boring history classes, and it was fascinating! Now, granted, the book is loosely based on real events, and it focuses mostly on his 2nd wife, but it definitely got me interested. When we got home from our trip, the first thing I did was go out and rent the movie, and although it was good, it was definitely a disappointment compared with the novel. After that I really had an interest in what the story was with his other wives, for this was just the beginning! So, I had to read the sequel, “The Boleyn Inheritance” which focuses on his last 3 wives and is just as fascinating. Then, I found out that there is actually a series on Showtime about all of this called The Tudors! Where have I been for the last two years when this show was on?? Obvi not paying any attention. So, of course I went out and rented the dvd’s of the first series and watched all 10 episodes in less than a week. And proceeded to watch the entire second series On Demand in about 4 days…and now I am officially hooked. I am definitely not a history buff, and certainly not really into English history, but everything about that era, and that evil, evil tyrant that was their king just fascinates me. It’s no wonder the English came to America to be free of rule! Anyway, it is a very fascinating story, hardly believable even though it is true and if you are curious, I would highly recommend both those books I read and the tv show…very amazing.
One thought on “I’m Officially Obsessed…

Leave a Reply

